Gayatri Mantra – Meaning.

Gayatri Mantra is referred to as the Maha Mantra – The great mantra.

ॐ भूर्भुव: स्व: तत्सवितुर्वरेन्यं । भर्गो देवस्य धीमहि, धीयो यो न: प्रचोदयात् ।।


Gayatri Mantra is referred to as the Maha Mantra – The great mantra.

Word to word meaning:

OM – The sound of the formless creator

Bhoor – The earth

Bhuvah – The planets

Swaha – The galaxies

Tat savitur – The giver of lights to the above three world’s.

Varenyam – worth having, worth possessing

Bhargo – light, his effluent light

Devasya – divine

Dheemahi – meditate upon

Dhiyo – The intellect

Yo – who

Nah – our

Prachodayat – Inspire.

OM BHOOR BHUWAH SWAHA – The creator of the earth, planets and the galaxies or the whole universe.

TAT SAVITUR VARENYAM – it’s worth having or possessing the Lord who is the give of lights to the whole universe.

BHARGO DEVASYA DHEEMAHI – I meditate upon the divine light.

DHIYO YO NAHA PRACHODAYAT – May the Almighty inspire our intellect.

Next we will see the significance of the Sacred Gayatri Mantra.

Kindly comment to inspire me, to keep going..

Thank you all.

Ashtanga yoga – The eight limbs

Patanjali explained the 8 step path to achieve Union, known as the Ashtanga Yoga – The eight limbs of yoga.

Lets know the eight limbs or the eight branches of yoga.

1.Yamas: Yamas as the universal vows.
There are five yamas:
a.Ahimsa (nonviolence)
b.Satya (truth)
c.Asteya (non-stealing)
d.Brahmacharya (continence)
(right use of energy)
e.Aparigraha (generous)

2.Niyama: Niyamas are self observances.
Five Niyamas are:
a.Saucha (purity)
b.Santosha (contentment)
c.Tapas (discipline)
d.Svadhyana (self-study)
e.Ishwara Pranidhana
(surrender to divine)

3.Asanas: Postures and physical poses
Asanas have two facets:
a.Pose (assuming the pose)
b.Repose (finding perfection
and maintaining)

4.Pranayama: Prana means life force.
Ayama means expansion.
Expansion of life force by

5.Pratyahara: Conquest of –
The senses and the mind.
The Sadhana

6.Dharana: Mastery of attention and

7.Dhayana: Witnessing Awareness

8.Samadhi: Union with the divine
The goal of yoga.

The ultimate goal of Yoga is union with the Supreme, God, Allah, Krishna Consciousness, Brahman, Buddha Nature, Christ.

Yoga is the pathway to bring us to a realization that we all are inseparably One.

What is yoga???

Some stretches, twists or turns…

It is much more.

Yoga is the union of body, mind and spirit.

Yoga is the union of our individuality with the divine intelligence.

An art, a science and a philosophy.

It is a possibility to touch the divine joy of creation.

As Sri Vyasa said, “Yoga is the teacher of yoga; yoga is to be understood through yoga. So live in yoga to realize yoga; comprehend yoga through yoga; he who is free from distractions enjoys through yoga”.

Hence yoga is the path in itself.